Tynan Crosses

Location: Tynan

Tynan Cross 1Located in Tynan village, west of the Church of Ireland Parish Church, the Parish of Tynan is of great antiquity.  This picturesque village is home to a group of four High Crosses, known as the Tynan Crosses, which date from the 8th to the 9th century.  Two are indigenous and are believed to have belonged to the monastic term of Saint Vindic, now the site of the Parish Church of Ireland.  Sir John Stronge imported two additional crosses from County Tyrone in 1840 for use as garden ornaments.   Near the site of the hilltop Parish Church was an early christian monastery associated with Saint Vindic.  Little is known of its early history, but two stone crosses survived; the Village Cross and Terrace Cross (the latter is now at Tynan Abbey and not for public access), as well as fragments built into the graveyard wall.  On the nearby graveyard gatepost is an unusual hallowed stone, a 17th century sundial.  The Village Cross has suffered from weather, Puritans and Cromwellian soldiery, and has been moved at least twice.  It is made up of at least two different crosses; the base and lower shaft of one, with the upper shaft and head of another.  The centre panel of the Village Cross depicts the story of Adam and Eve.

Tynan Cross Info 3

Back